Under the Covers

The young woman pictured above is Jonna Lee hailing from Stockholm. She’s relatively unknown (well to me anyways) and this is the first song I ever heard from her. Needless to say I’m more than impressed. She covers The Postal Service‘s The District Sleeps Alone Tonight in a quieter, more subtle and moving fashion. Her voice is perfect for the song and the emotion that the lyrics invoke. Do you remember Robyn from back on the radio in the 90’s? Well just cause she isn’t a mainstrem success anymore doesn’t mean she’s not making good music. 2005’s Be Mine was one of my favorite tracks that year and here she takes a new spin on Kelly Clarkson‘s equally infectious Since U Been Gone. And lastly is a little AFI just cause whenever I hear this song it tugs on my heart strings. For real. They do The Misfits right with their cover of Last Caress my absolute favorite song from them. To you it might be twisted but to me I hear a love song. Well a love song to death.

Jonna Lee – The District Sleeps Alone Tonight (Postal Service cover)
Robyn – Since U Been Gone (Kelly Clarkson Cover)
AFI – Last Caress (Misfits cover)

Leave a Reply

