Gone, But Not Forgotten: Denali

From 2000-2004, Richmond’s Denali was the shit to me. Maura Davis’s voice was one of the reasons why I fell for the female fronted band. They introduced a seemingly undiscovered aspect of music to me back in the early 00’s: that bands can be found on the internet. This was a revelation to me and their music made me search and find bands that aren’t getting the exposure that they should. I can’t describe the feeling I got when I first heard Relief from their self titled debut. It was like discovering a new feeling or sensation. I couldn’t wait to tell my friends all about them but of course they disregarded it. It’s been my experience that you have to search out good music these days. In 2003, the band lost two of its members just after they released their second album The Instinct. The shakeup would eventually lead to the end of the band. Maura’s music lives on in the form of Ambulette but I haven’t heard too much from them yet and what I’ve heard hasn’t caught my attention. Maybe it’s cause Denali will always be too special to me. Listen to the tracks below and join me.

Denali – Relief
Denali – Hold Your Breath
Denali – Surface
Denali – The Instinct

Leave a Reply

